Croque Monsieur (with Tartine Bread)

11Aug11

Croque MonsieurI’m lost.  Freedom is odd.  I don’t like being idle, and I kept myself accordingly busy throughout highschool, college, and law school.  Even during my time off between, I’d spend 4-5 days a week playing volleyball in the evenings after work.

Now I’m at a loss.  My life was completely consumed the past few months (nay, past three years!), and now that it has all abruptly come to an end, I kind of don’t know what to do with myself.

Honestly.

It’s not like I built up much of a life outside of law school– most hobbies/interests/people fell by the wayside.  Now that I have time, I want to go back, but I’m not really sure where to start.  (Aside from the perpetual job hunt, of course.)

One of the things I promised myself I’d do was learn some French (Parlez-vous français?  Je ne parle pas français.).  Another is to update this blog more often.  And what better way to do it than a post about a French classic? Croque MonsieurThat, plus I had crusty bread from Tartine that I had bought the day before.  What could be more perfect?

The Croque Monsieur is a French ham and cheese sandwich that has just enough kick to give it that extra edge and make you want to eat it all day, every day.  P and I made it when were staying in Paris.  It’s been a while, but I was due to make it again, stateside.

The recipe, as adapted from Simply Recipes, is as follows:

Croque Monsieur

Serves 1

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 Tbsp flour
  • 1/2 Tbsp butter
  • 3/8 cup milk (think 1/4 cup + half of 1/4 cup)
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • pinch of cayenne pepper
  • 1-1/2 Tbsp grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 cup grated Gruyere or Swiss cheese (plus a little extra, for the sprinkle at the end of the sandwich)
  • 2 slices of bread
  • 2 slices of thick cut ham
  • dijon mustard

Directions:

  1. First, preheat an oven (or, in my case, a toaster oven) to 400ºF.
  2. Then, make the béchamel sauce.
  3. Melt the butter in a small saucepan on medium low.  Add the flour while stirring to make sure there are no clumps.  Then add the milk and cayenne pepper.
  4. Remove from heat, and stir in 3/4 of the Gruyere or Swiss cheese as well as the Parmesan cheese.  The sauce should be thick but not clumpy (or clumping).
  5. Then, prepare the sandwich.
  6. Lay out the two slices of bread in the oven and toast until lightly browned.  Remove the bread from the oven, and spread a layer of dijon mustard on each slice.
  7. Add the ham, and spread the remaining Gruyere or Swiss cheese on the bread (add some more, if necessary).  Top the sandwich with the other toasted slice of bread.
  8. Spread the béchamel sauce generously on top of the sandwich, and sprinkle the remaining Gruyere or Swiss cheese on top.
  9. Return the sandwich to the oven.  Let it sit for 4 minutes, and then turn on the broiler for 3-5 minutes, or until browning on top.
  10. Remove, allow to cool slightly, and bite in!

**Note: if you top this with an egg, it becomes a Croque Madame!

Croque Monsieur

4 Responses to “Croque Monsieur (with Tartine Bread)”

  1. Nice post. I wonder if I will feel that way when I finish grad school. Congrats on finishing law school.

    The first time I had a Croque Monsieur in France, I didn’t know what it was. I thought it was a big grilled cheese with a slice of mozzarella on the top! I was sadly disappointed. I don’t care for the Croque Monsiuers. But it is very French.

    If I know of anyone wanting to make a French snack, I will share this blog with them.

  2. Yum 🙂

    Brings back memories of Everest, lumpy bechamel sauce and our coffee fiasco.

  3. oh yum this looks delicious and is always a great snack when cold or snowboarding!

  4. looks so tasty! can we learn french together?


Leave a Reply

