Another day, another quiche.

30May11

Broccoli and Tofu QuicheThe only way to study properly is to eat properly, I say.  Brain food is key.

Unfortunately, it’s all too easy to eat unhealthy while studying.  Just ask any law student– how many of us have gotten into better shape since we started?  Yeah, that’s what I thought.

Anyway, while I was camping out in El Cerrito, house- and dog- sitting for my cousin while she and her husband romped in Kauai, Hawai’i (NO FAIR!), I discovered that she had (1) ramekins, and (2) heavy whipping cream, and (3) eggs.  Excellent, I thought.  QUICHE-TIME.  Besides, anything to distract me from studying, eh?  And yes, distractions include updating this blog.  I have a feeling I’ll be making an appearance here much more this summer than ever before . . . 😀

Disclaimer: Quiche is not exactly brain food.  Brain food, I am told, includes salmon, blueberries, and walnuts.  None of these aforementioned items have found their way into this quiche (although it would be interesting, no?).  Also, this is not exactly the healthiest dish, considering the amount of cream added.  But people study and work better when they’re happy, right?  And a quiche makes me happy, so that’s all that matters.  😀  Anyone who says otherwise can go . . .  cry in a corner by themselves.

For myself, I want my quiche.

And that is exactly what I proceeded to do.  Here’s the recipe.

Making a crustless quiche has got to be one of the easiest, tastiest things on the planet.  I’ve made it before, when I made Quiche in a Cup.  This time, instead of mushrooms and onions, I used broccoli and tofu.  Hey, what I found in the fridge, I used.  Simple.  Easy.

Broccoli and Tofu Quiche (Serves one greedy, not-so-studious heifer girl)

Ingredients:

  • half a head of broccoli
  • half cup of heavy cream
  • 2 large eggs
  • half cup of chopped tofu (I used tofu from the 99 Ranch “Vegetarian Delight.”  I’m not a vegetarian– I just have vegetarian tendencies sometimes 😀  Or maybe just tofu cravings)
  • cheese (I actually have no idea what kind of cheese it was– I found it in my cousin’s fridge.  Just use gruyere, swiss, etc.  I think it might have been cheddar, now that I think about it.  ‘Twas delicious, regardless of what it was)
  • salt and pepper, to taste
Directions:
  1. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees F (190 deg C)
  2. While it’s preheating, chop up your broccoli into small florets
  3. Stirfry the broccoli until it’s cooked, then place aside
  4. If your tofu is uncooked, do the same with the tofu– until it’s slightly browned around the edges
  5. In the ramekin, put a small layer of cheese on the bottom
  6. Add the broccoli and tofu, in layers
  7. Top with a thin layer of cheese
  8. In a separate bowl,  mix the eggs and cream until smooth
  9. Add salt and pepper to the egg and cream mixture
  10. Pour the seasoned egg and cream mixture into the ramekin until the ramekin is mostly full, but not overflowing
  11. Top with another layer of cheese
  12. Bake for 40 minutes, or until the top is a golden brown color.
  13. EAT!
A bite of broccoli-tofu quiche
5 Responses to “Another day, another quiche.”

  1. 1 Casey

    Oh my gosh. *MOUTH WATERING* That looks so good! ill be expecting mine in the mail lol

  2. 3 Julia

    now I’m pretty hungry, looks fabulous!

  3. Indeed! We study and work better when we’re happy. 😉 Super yummy lookin’ quiche you have there.


Leave a Reply

