Limoncello (Sweet lemon-flavored vodka/alcohol) – part I

10Aug10

A batch of limoncello (made with organic vodka) waits patiently on my windowsillI’m not sure when I developed this craving for limoncello, but sometime last week I felt the irresistible urge to buy lemons and vodka (couldn’t find Everclear– maybe next time).

[I still have ten lemons sitting, peeled and naked, in a bowl.  I’m not really sure what to do with them right now.  I suppose when life finally hands you lemons– no matter how desperately you searched for them– you should make lemonade.]

It’s a fairly straightforward recipe.  They are all basically the same, with a varying number of lemons, percentage of sugar, etc.

Since I haven’t started making the syrup yet, though, I’ll just show you what I’ve done so far:

After washing and scrubbing each one thoroughly, I peeled ten (10) lemons with a peeler, taking care to avoid the bitter, white pith.  It took me ~2 hours to slowly make my way through the ten lemons.  The quality of my lemons weren’t great, and their skins were rather thin, which made it a lot harder.  I would suggest finding thick-skinned, aromatic lemons to make your limoncello with, if only to save you the backache of slowly peeling them.

Luckily, I had a few episodes of Leverage on my computer, so I watched that while peeling.

After I finished, I dumped all the pith-less peels into a glass jar and poured a bottle (750ml) 80-proof vodka (I used Rain, an organic vodka) slowly over the yellow peelings.  Ok, maaaybe it was less than 750ml because maaaybe my brother, father, and I took vodka shots together.  Heh.

😀

Regardless of how much of the vodka actually made it into the jar, suffice it to say there was enough to cover the peelings and then some.  I swirled the mixture a bit, and closed the whole jar with its lid.

Then . . .

You wait.

. . .

Deer eating an apple in my backyard

Then you can watch as a deer comes into your backyard and starts nibbling at fallen apples from your tree.

*twiddle thumbs*

Ok, might as well stop hanging around now.  The limoncello needs to sit and marinate in the alcohol for at least 4 days (preferably for a much longer time– somewhere in the ballpark of 80 days is preferred by old recipes, but I don’t have that much time, so I’m shortening the wait period to 4 days).  So just put a sign on it, and leave it.

Like thus:

Limoncello - Open this jar of vodka and lemons on FridaySee you then.

3 Responses to “Limoncello (Sweet lemon-flavored vodka/alcohol) – part I”

  1. I had this when I was in Italy and fell in love with it, it looks really hard to make but you did a great job 😀

    • It’s actually pretty simple to make– it just takes a ton of time and patience! 😀 And lots of lemons. Haha!


  1. 1 Limoncello (Sweet lemon-flavored vodka/alcohol) – part II | Pineapplebread

Leave a Reply

