WORLD CUP! A semi-football fan’s homage to the sport

10Jul10

Homage to the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa (Go Football!)Americans really need to be more into this sport.  I love it.  I can’t play for my life (although I suppose I was a half-decent goalie during P.E. class in middle school . . . but hey, we were all twelve years old then.  That doesn’t count).  But even if I can’t play, I can definitely watch, and with the kind of hotness that is running around in shorts and knee socks on those fields, watching is what I do BEST.

Anyway, I haven’t been following the World Cup as closely as I should have been (I blame it on not being able to watch it on TV, notwithstanding the fact that ESPN3 lets you watch it streaming online), and some of my friends’ zealousness and rabid-fan-ness (Alea, this is a shout out to you, dear :D) puts me to shame.  Nevertheless, I will honestly have to say I have been enjoying the World Cup this time around.  I was there when we made our tie-ing goal with England in our first game, and I was there, screaming at my computer when we beat Algeria (my mother and I both shrieked, causing my brother to come scurrying over to see what was the matter with us).  And although the US hasn’t gone farther in the finals, I am still excited about the FINAL game tomorrow!  Spain v. Netherlands!

Because I am going to Spain next month, I am officially rooting for them in their Championship game tomorrow.  By the by, I have purchased my tickets and received my visa, so all is set to GO!  And also, I think it would be awesome for Spain if they have another major victory under their belt (Rafael Nadal = sexy tennis godliness; Pau Gasol = Lakers winning gigantorness; World Cup = potential hotness number three).  So . . . Go Spain!

😀

2 Responses to “WORLD CUP! A semi-football fan’s homage to the sport”

  1. 1 Alea

    I’m rooting for the Netherlands because that’s who I put down to win, but I’m kind of okay with either one winning. Also because David Villa ❤

  2. 2 zaman

    Nice post friends!
    I also want to sharing Video, Photo and Wallpaper Gallery of Greatest Football Player in The World, Im verry happy if you want visit my new blog.. 🙂 Greatest Football Players

    thanks .. 🙂


Leave a Reply

