Kimchi Bokeum Bap (my attempt at being Korean)

05Jun10

I have WAY too many Korean friends.  Love you guys (*waves*), but it’s definitely been influencing my cooking.  I now know how to make kimchi bokeum bap– aka, kimchi fried rice.  It’s delicious, I promise you.  I made it for my parents last week in my excitement at being back home on the East coast.  They rather liked it.  Even my brother, who may or may not have just been humoring me, ate some!

Disclaimer: I am not Korean, so the recipe I’m posting below is not necessarily what a true Korean might consider “legit,” but I like it.  And I think you will too.

Kimchi Bokeum Bap– with Spam

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups cooked rice
  • 1/2 can of spam
  • 1 to 1.5 cups of well fermented kimchi
  • 2 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp gochujjang (a hot pepper soy paste, found in your local Asian supermarket)
  • 3 tbsp beef or chicken stock
  • 1 tbsp butter

Directions:

  1. Cut the kimchi into bite sized pieces (with a knife or Korean-style, with a pair of scissors)– save the sauce that comes out when you cut it.
  2. Cut the spam into bite sized cubes
  3. Heat the sesame oil in frying pan on medium-high, then add the kimchi.  Saute for approximately 2 minutes.  Do not burn the kimchi!  Add the sauce that you saved from cutting the kimchi in step one.
  4. Add the spam to the mix and saute the mixture until the spam is covered with a bit of the sauce from the kimchi.
  5. Turn the heat down to medium, and then add the rice and mix thoroughly.  You want all the rice to be mixed in well– so no hints of white rice left!
  6. Mix the gochujjang and the beef or chicken stock together and pour over the rice.  Mix.
  7. Add butter and mix well.
  8. Serve! (Serves 4-6 . . . or 2 very hungry boys :D)

Note:  Like all Asian recipes, this recipe is flexible.  You don’t have to use spam– use another type of meat (I’ve tried canned roast beef before) or you could even use tuna.  You can also adjust the amount of rice or kimchi or gochujjang to get different levels of spiciness (more gochujjang = more spicy if your kimchi isn’t spicy enough!).

ENJOY!

2 Responses to “Kimchi Bokeum Bap (my attempt at being Korean)”

  1. It sounds about right to me but i am not korean either

    • 2 Jeanne

      Hahaha— we’ll see. There haven’t been any comments to the negatory, so I’m assuming I’m in the clear so far . . . 😀


Leave a Reply

