A salmon sandwich of gourmet proportions

02Apr10

When I was four years old, I was asked what my favorite food was in preschool.  My answer?  An emphatic: CATFISH.  I guess when we were living in Texas, it was one of the easier fish to get.  So my mom cooked it.  And I loved it.

Well, since then, I haven’t had much catfish.  We moved from Texas and headed north, moving to North Carolina, then New Jersey, and ultimately settling down in the suburbs of Maryland on the outskirts of Washington, DC.  And with these transitions in my life, so did my diet slightly change.  We still eat fish often, but we switched over to salmon.

To be honest, I don’t know what catfish tastes like anymore.  I know a place nearby that makes a catfish po’boy, but I haven’t had the chance to try it.  And, honestly, I’m in love with salmon now.  The last time my friends and I went to Costco, I split two large pieces of salmon (yeah, I’m talking about one of those huge slabs of salmon) with two of my friends.  And I don’t mean we each got a third– nooo, I mean I got half of one and half of the other.  The equivalent of one large slab of salmon!

Why, you ask, didn’t I just get one all for myself?  I should have, huh?  It’s actually because one of the slabs was smoked salmon, while the other slab was raw.  Both delicious, I can tell you.

Anyway, I basically went on a salmon binge for the next week.  And who can blame me?  So much goodness in salmon!  It’s healthy (full of omega-3s) and it’s flavorful and looks beautiful pretty much any way you cook it.  And it’s versatile! You can bake it, fry it, steam it, and eat it raw (which I don’t do unless I get salmon at a sushi restaurant with sushi- or sashimi- grade salmon, but one of my friends eats the Costco salmon raw).

I decided, this go round, to make a salmon sandwich.  I had way too much bread leftover from Tartine, so I decided to make sandwiches.  Gasp, I know!  LEFTOVER bread from Tartine?  Contrary to popular belief, I can NOT eat an entire loaf of bread from Tartine in a day.  Or even two.  Or even three.

Ok, maaaybe three.

If I have help.

In any case, I had leftover olive bread and salmon.  What else is a girl to do besides make a salmon sandwich??

So I did.

This is one of my first iterations of salmon sandwiches, and I’m sure I’ll come up with many more variations in the future.  But for now, this is what I have.

Gochujjang* Salmon Sandwich

**gochujjang is a soy-based, spicy Korean paste, available at your local Asian or Korean supermarket.  You can substitute with miso, and perhaps mix in some minced chili peppers to give it a kick

Ingredients

  • 1/2 lb raw salmon
  • 1 1/2 tbsp gochujjang
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp sesame oil
  • olive oil
  • your favorite crusty bread, cut into thick slices

Directions–

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 deg F.
  2. On a foil-lined baking sheet, pour a little olive oil (I usually just eye it, but I suppose it’s approximately a tsp).  Place the salmon on the sheet, and make sure both sides are covered with a little oil.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix together the gochujjang, soy sauce, and sesame oil until all three are thoroughly mixed into one paste.
  4. Spread the gochujjang paste on top of the salmon in a thick coat, covering all sides.
  5. Bake for 30 minutes (time will vary depending on the thickness of your salmon).
  6. For the last 3~5 minutes of bake time, you can put your slices of bread in the oven to heat them up.
  7. Remove everything from the oven, and on a plate, put your slices of bread, then cut a generous piece of salmon and top.
  8. ENJOY!

Serves 1-2.

4 Responses to “A salmon sandwich of gourmet proportions”

  1. 1 sonia

    i will get a catfish po boy with you!

  2. 3 Jing

    Oh please try the catfish po’ boy!!! It’s catfish elevated to its highest manifestation!


Leave a Reply

