Bibimbap (비빔밥 – Korean “Everything Rice”)

22Sep09

046Korean food is possibly one of the healthiest cuisines I know (with the exception of the fatty pork, sam keup sal, and other assorted barbecues).  But the regular dishes that are eaten by Koreans on a normal basis – kimchi being a staple side dish- are usually vegetables.  And the vegetables are usually pickled (the quintessential kimchi falling into this category) or raw or otherwise not fried.

That being said, a LOT of work goes into preparing a Korean meal.  Bibimbap (비빔밥), today’s featured dish, is made of various vegetables (including, but not limited to: julienned  cucumber or zucchini, mushrooms, carrots, lettuce, soybean sprouts, bracken fern), a meat of some sort (sauteed beef, chicken, fish, etc.), all on a bed of rice.  After assembly of various complementary colors on a pile of rice the entire combination is topped with an over easy egg.  As you can see above, everything is prepared individually and made ready so that fellow diners can sit around the table, pile the different additions in their own bowls according to preference, and chow down with happiness.  It takes a lot of work, but it is quite delicious.

057

My friend, Sara, fellow foodie and cook extraordinaire, decided to make bibimbap one day for us.  It was amazing!  Sara, why are you in law school?

Haha- truth be told, sometimes cooking is the only outlet we have in law school.  Even now, as I sit in my tiny apartment writing this (and debating whether I should move towards hitting the gym), I want to go out, buy ingredients, and create something that would make people start to salivate.  Admittedly, law school takes up an immense amount of time, and it’s often stressful and taxing on the body and soul, but a person’s got to eat, right?  And one must take care of one’s body!

To tell the truth, I keep wishing that I were working and earning money.  That way I would be able to have nights free and the money to be able to buy ingredients.  But whenever I think this way, I recall someone telling me how the grass is always greener on the other side.  Work is difficult in its own way, too, and the path I’m currently pursuing (big firms and such), I will likely have even less time to myself once I start earning that money.  Haha – and as if on cue, my alarm is now going off to wake me up.  To life?  To face a new day . . .

(On that note – I just wanted to apologize for the dearth of entries . . . yet again.  Law school kind of hit me in the face as soon as I returned from Irvine, but I plan to be much more consistent about updating here.  By the way – I am open to requests for specific dishes!  I’m always willing to try new things!)

On the plus side – for friends back on the East Coast who read this blog – you’re the first to know: I’ll be flying home on October 14 for the AIPLA (American Intellectual Property Law Association) career fair!

2 Responses to “Bibimbap (비빔밥 – Korean “Everything Rice”)”

  1. 1 omar

    yay for coming home

  2. mm.. yes, anything that has a lot of chopped/shredded veggies takes a bit of time to prepare. i love it in the stone bowl when the rice gets crispy


Leave a Reply

