Habana – Costa Mesa

18Jul09

005This was actually the second time I went to Habana, a restaurant featuring classy Cuban food which is located in The LAB, an “anti-mall” located in Costa Mesa.  My first time wandering into this hip little center was when my friend Priscilla and I went to dinner together after work.  I don’t remember what we got precisely – the ropa vieja and . . . something else.

Then, I went again with my friend from Taiwan Tech Trek (“TTT”), Diana.  I hadn’t seen her in – literally – years.  It was a good meeting.  I don’t remember what we ordered (see picture to the left).  It was pretty good, although we probably should have thought twice about ordering something with a single piece of corn to share . . . Diana had to do some surgery and cut all the kernels off the cob so we could share it.  It was pretty tasty, whatever it was.

Haha.  I would definitely recommend this place for dates.  It’s got a great setting, with outdoor seating that is heated (but unnecessary, since SoCal weather is so darn awesome), and a cozy feel.  The only problem was the sparrows that are so used to being fed by Habana patrons that they have no qualms about landing right on your bread basket and cocking a head at you, as if asking, “please sah, canna’i hav’ som’ more?”  No, sparrow!  Shoo!  This is my food!

Speaking of the bread basket – the bread itself isn’t that great, but I love the butter they use.  I think it’s some sort of garlic butter.  Delish!

006

This is the one we got both times: The Ropa Vieja – Shredded Cuban pot roast, peppers, onions, garlic, tomato, steamed white rice, platano maduros, sofrito black beans.
YUM.

Diana and I were both happy.  See?

007008

3 Responses to “Habana – Costa Mesa”

  1. 1 Jenn

    Mmm I am drooling over that ropa vieja!

  2. 2 Pris

    Cool blog Jeanne! Gone are the fun days of summer. Btw, I think we had some chicken plantain dish besides the ropa vieja. 😛


  1. 1 Habana – Costa Mesa | Costa Mesa Blog

Leave a Reply

