Tasty Garden (Alhambra)

08Jul09

053

My friend Sara came to visit a couple weeks ago (for her friend’s wedding, I believe), and I headed over to her friends’ place to have lunch.  Her friends Cathy and Janie took us to Alhambra to eat at a restaurant called Tasty Garden.  It was quite tasty. The above dish was sauteed fish and vegetables. I don’t recall the actual name of the dish anymore, but most of the time Chinese dishes tend to be pretty descriptively named and not too whimsical.

048

This was shiitake mushrooms and bok choy. Savory and juicy. I enjoyed this one.

055

I really liked the fried tofu dish. I think they used silken tofu instead of firm, which gave it a much smoother texture. I wish I could make stuff out of silken tofu, but it’s just so darn difficult to handle that I usually just eat it straight up with soy sauce. Whatever works, right? As long as it’s tasty, I’m happy.

There was one other dish that we ordered that was a chow mein. It was pretty generic looking, so I decided not to take a picture of it. Sara and I also split a azuki-bean slushy drink that was great. The drink was sweet and cold and a good complement to the savory, sauce-heavy foods we were eating.

Later we returned to Cathy and Janie’s place where I found a large library of Korean dramas. Oh ho ho! I left with a bagful of Korean dramas and movies. So much for studying and getting work done . . . Hahaha!

~As a side note, I was in Taiwan all last week for my grandfather’s funeral (ironically, he passed away on Father’s Day). I will have pictures up from my week in Taiwan soon, along with stories of my exploration of Taipei, Pingtung, and Chungli. I promise.

2 Responses to “Tasty Garden (Alhambra)”

  1. 1 Sara

    OMG. What I wouldn’t do to go back there!

  2. Incredibly well executed blog.


Leave a Reply

