Tartine

23Jun09

033

While studying for finals last semester, I spent most of my time in the Skyroom, which is the 24th floor of my apartment building. It has an amazing view and great furniture for studying on. I would head up as soon as it opened at 10:00 a.m., and I would stay there, swaddled in my pajamas, until it closed at 10:00 p.m. In order to preserve my sanity, my friend Sara and I would go for walks when the skyroom closed, exploring the world of San Francisco through the dark lens of nighttime. If you haven’t walked through the city at night, I highly recommend it. It’s incredibly peaceful in certain areas of the city. The raucous sounds of the city are forgotten in the muffled, muted tones of the nighttime. Just remember not to walk by yourself (it’s a city, after all, and not that safe, no matter how familiar you are with the area), and to bring a light jacket – San Francisco is not known to be the most warm city, although trekking up some of those hills will definitely warm you up!

But what does all of this walking have to do with a croissant? Ah, my friends. This is not just any croissant! This is a croissant from Tartine, an absolutely amazing bakery located in the Mission. During our nighttime excursions, Sara and I wandered deep into the Mission, and I discovered that Tartine is within walking distance of my school. Dangerous news indeed. (Disclaimer: by “within walking distance,” I still mean that it’s a good 2-3 miles away; for those of you who dislike walking – aka, the non-native-San-Franciscans – you can take the J line and get off at 18th. Tartine is at 600 Guerrero St.) So the day after my Contracts final, I decided to go to the Mission on my own and treat myself to a croissant.

A group of us had gone to Tartine a week earlier and almost all of us returned with something in the nondescript paper bag they put everything in. In my bag lay one large, incredibly flakey croissant, beckoning to me. And ever since I took one bite into that crisp, buttery crust, I fell in love.

The next time – that day after my final – I bought one for myself and one for Sara. And before I committed it to the confines of my stomach, I decided to share it with all of you. May all of you be able to enjoy and partake in such deliciousness and decadance!

2 Responses to “Tartine”

  1. 1 Alea

    i miss those croissants from tartine

  2. 2 bitch

    please


Leave a Reply

