Oh SNAP!

11May09

115

Sugar snap peas are amazing. I could eat these babies forever and a day.

Sugar Snap Pea Stir Fry

I get my sugar snap peas from my local Civic Center farmer’s market. To choose good ones, look for bright green pods with firm, unmottled skins. They should not have translucence to their skin- if they do, you’ve got the kind of peas that are great for deshelling for the peas inside, but as my recipe calls for eating the outer skin as well, those don’t do so well because they tend to be a little bit harsher in taste (not as tender).

This recipe is about as simple as you can get, so I’m including it in the list of Simple College Cooking 101 recipes!

Serves 1-2

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb sugar snap peas (more or less to your preference, really)
  • salt
  • cooking oil (I use grapeseed oil)
  • water

Directions:

  1. Break off the ends of each of the sugar snap peas. If the fibers come off the middle of the pea, that’s okay. Wash them thoroughly!
  2. Heat a saute pan on high and add a tbsp of cooking oil.
  3. Add the pods to the frying pan and let them saute for approximately one minute, flipping or stirring them slightly. The colors of the peas should become a darker shade of green. (My friend Lisa and I, being our normal, chemist-minded selves, speculate that the reason behind this is because the cells are breaking down and releasing the chlorophyll, thus releasing more of the green color and allowing us to see a darker, richer shade of green).
  4. Add approximately half a cup of water and salt to taste.
  5. Let the peas simmer for another 3 minutes.
  6. Serve!

It’s an extremely simple (but delicious) recipe. It’s kept me going this round of finals.

Speaking of finals, tomorrow is my last one!!!! Ah, the joys of education law and statutory goodness. I just want to crank my way through it at this point. I know I’ve been somewhat MIA the past semester, but… this summer, I promise I will have much more to post about!!

Ta-ta, my loves. See you all soon!

No Responses Yet to “Oh SNAP!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

