Smoked Salmon Pizza

06Mar09

033

The 1L girls on my floor and I had a potluck a couple of nights ago. I had been meaning to do a floor dinner for a long time and I finally got around to doing it this past Wednesday. (I’d still love to do a full-floor dinner at some point, since I now know most of the people on my floor) . It only took a semester and a half and spring break around the corner to finally prod me into gathering them together to eat. Yes, I know, I am a slacker.

Anyway, while searching my pantry for food to make for my friends, I remembered that I had received a package of smoked salmon from my friend Kathy for my birthday and had never gotten around to eating it. That and finding a package of pizza dough in my fridge just called for me to make… smoked salmon pizza!!! I modified the recipe from Taste Buddies.

It was delicious.

Smoked Salmon Pizza

Ingredients:

  • one package pizza dough
  • 1 tbsp butter + ~1 tbsp vegetable (or grapeseed) oil
  • olive oil
  • 1/3 lb smoked salmon
  • 3 sweet onions
  • sour cream
  • fresh dill
  • capers

Directions:

  1. Slice the onions thinly. Heat a large skillet and put the butter and vegetable oil in the pan. Once they’re melted, add the onions.
  2. Saute onions until they are caramelized and fragrant (this should take about half an hour). Don’t let them burn, otherwise they will take on a bitter taste!
  3. Preheat an oven to 350 degrees F. Flour a flat surface (or a baking pan) and roll out the pizza dough. Since I was baking on a pan, I wasn’t able to have a round pizza. Instead, I tried to stretch it into somewhat of an oblong shape. However you want to do it, it doesn’t really matter.
  4. Brush some olive oil over the dough and put it into the oven for 10-15 minutes. There might be bubbles that arise during the baking of the crust, but they can either be popped or just ignored.
  5. After the dough is finished, spread the top with the caramelized onions. Then add the pieces of smoked salmon (in thin slices) topped with generous helpings of capers, some sour cream, and chopped up, fresh dill.

The rest of the dinner was pretty awesome too. My friends brought some pretty good food!

039034029

043031

4 Responses to “Smoked Salmon Pizza”

  1. 1 Alea

    it was a fantastic dinner. we should do it again some time

  2. *drool*

  3. 3 Jenn

    Oh yum!!!!!

  4. 4 jane

    sweet photos Jeanne!!


Leave a Reply

