Brenda’s French Soul Food – a deliciously soulful experience

18Dec08

Living in the Tenderloin is not always a pleasant experience. But as one wanders, there are definitely pockets of beauty. One of the gems I’ve discovered in the Tenderloin is Brenda’s French Soul Food. I had been eyeing this place for weeks, and when my cousin, Ruby, came to visit, we decided to hit it up. The following pictures are from that experience, although I’ve been several times since.

french-toastDo you like French Toast? With maple pecan syrup? I do!

grillades-and-gritsGrillades and Grits!

beignetsIf you ever go, you at least have to get beignets. They’re like the donuts of the South, except stuffed with apple filling, chocolate, or … a suprisingly tasty creole-style crawfish filling. The plain, apple, and chocolate beignets are topped with a light layer of confectioner’s sugar, but the crawfishh beignet is topped with something like Old Bay or some other sort of spicy seasoning. I highly recommend it.

gumboWhat is southern comfort food without GUMBO? The next time I went to Brenda’s, I got an extra bowl to take home for lunch. Mm!

And before you guys ask, YES, this food was ordered for two people. But when you put two foodies together, it’s inevitable that our eyes are bigger than our stomachs, and we ended up with a bunch of leftovers that I brought home with me.

Some other information about Brenda’s – It’s pretty cheap (almost everything is under $10), especially for the quantity and the quality. When I went there with my friend, J, he ordered the watermelon iced tea, which wasn’t bad. And every time I’ve gone, I’ve ordered something different, and I’ve liked just about everything I’ve tasted there, so be bold!

One thing to note, however, is the size of this restaurant. It’s small (I think they might have somewhere in the vicinity of 26 seats or something), so it’s definitely not a place for extremely large parties. Four people is a good amount, but any more and you’ll be squished. Furthermore, Brenda’s is EXTREMELY popular on the weekends. Ruby and I had to wait over 40 minutes that first time. When J and I tried to go again the other day, there was a large line visible from several blocks away, so we decided to turn around and go elsewhere for breakfast (time is of the essence during finals!).

The pictures were taken by me with Ruby’s camera.

2 Responses to “Brenda’s French Soul Food – a deliciously soulful experience”

  1. I used to live a few blocks up the hill from the Tenderloin, long time ago. I haven’t been back to SF in years but if I should happen to get there, I’d definitely check this place out 🙂

  2. The photography is amazing and the foods of excellent palate, I always love to visit you blog…some things nice on mine too, lately.


Leave a Reply

