DRUNK on happiness~~ FINALS are DONE! Time to get CRUNK!

17Dec08

I’m DONE with finals! And as law students are wont to do… It’s time to CELEBRATE!
Martini

Disclaimer: Today’s entry is alcohol-related. Those of you underage, please ignore. Hehe.

Actually, my first semester of law school was really intense. If you have ever watched a movie involving lawyers or law students, you will probably notice that they’re constantly in a bar, nursing an alcoholic drink of some sort. Well, I used to think that it was just a stereotype created by alcohol so that they would have more of a chance to show drinking on the big screen. I was wrong. Law students drink alcohol like FISH drink water. Not to further the stereotype or anything (many of my friends actually don’t drink, but that’s not the majority opinion here), but when law students need to destress, the first thing they head for is that “other” bar.

Personally, I’m not a huge fan of drinking, but I’m not adverse to a good drink now and then. Especially in celebration of a semester of pain and suffering (but with good company, so I enjoyed it). Actually, my last test yesterday was especially taxing. Not only was it a four hour criminal law final (extended from 3 hours), my computer died about one hour in, meaning I had to WRITE the rest of the three hours left. My arm was unbelievably STIFF afterwards. Everything below my elbow was numb, more or less. That’s a LOT of writing!

Hm. In retrospect, perhaps I shouldn’t be writing about that here. My crim professor does know about this food blog. If he reads it, he’ll know that someone’s computer died halfway and there goes the anonymity of my test. Let’s hope that he cuts me some slack because of it… 😀 It was funny how my entire class knew about my computer dying about half an hour after we had all submitted our tests. I got so many sympathetic hugs. To you guys – thanks for the love, and have a great break!

I’m going to leave you with a recipe for French Martinis. After Thanksgiving (and copious amounts of wine and champagne) with my relatives, I have decided that the East Coast relatives need to live a little. More alcohol at family gatherings! Let’s go! (Haha, living on the West Coast has definitely broadened my alcohol horizons… )

French Martini (as taught by Tom, my cousin’s boyfriend):

1.0 oz. Chambord (French Black Raspberry Liquor)

1.0 oz. Belvedere Vodka

1.0 oz. pineapple juice

Mix all three over ice and pour into martini glasses. Enjoy!

*The image above is actually of my cousin’s regular martini, made over the Thanksgiving break with dark vermouth (we accidentally bought the wrong one). None of my pictures of the French Martini came out, sadly. But I can assure you, it was delicious

2 Responses to “DRUNK on happiness~~ FINALS are DONE! Time to get CRUNK!”

  1. 1 Alea

    that sounds really good. we need to make some next semester.

  2. I am going to have to try that. I love martini’s and that is really pretty (therefor it must be good…right???)


Leave a Reply

