Favorite Eats in Taiwan – Oyster Omelet

06Dec08

To avoid any confusion, my good friend Jeanne obligated me write a guest post (back in October). So reluctantly…oops I mean finally without further ado…here it is. Actually I’ll try to post more on Favorite Eats in Taiwan and keep them short and sweet. There! Happy now? Jeanne?


Oyster Omelete (蚵仔煎 )

Oyster Omelete

One of my personal Favorites. My grandma just happens to make the best oyster omelet in the KNOWN UNIVERSE. For those less fortunate, you can find it at almost any night market. The caveat is that you’ll have to be in Taiwan to get the real deal.

Watch how its made.


OYSTER OMELET RECIPE

  • 7-10 oysters
  • 1/2 cup cold water
  • diced chive
  • 2 eggs, well beaten
  • 1/4 cup tapioca starch or sweet potato starch

~Mike

4 Responses to “Favorite Eats in Taiwan – Oyster Omelet”

  1. 1 bubble&squeak

    I had this in KL, Malaysia, and it was pretty good. There are alot of Hokkien people in Malaysia who make some really good food. I think Malaysians like spicier food though because I don’t remember having any spicy food in Taiwan. I can’t say I enjoyed the Western food there though.

    I really liked the Shaved Ice confections in Taiwan and, of course, the bubble tea.

    Anyway, that Taipei night market was great. I have yet to visit a better market. Would love to visit Taiwan again.

  2. wow, oysters for breakfast! how decadent!
    or…dinner even. i’ve had many a dinner with fried eggs over rice 🙂

  3. 3 Jeanne

    bubble&squeak,

    If you’re ever in Taiwan, try Beef Noodle Soup (spicy). There is also Spicy Hot Pot for the lack of a better term (not shabu shabu).

    ~mike

  4. This Taiwanese delicacy makes me visit Taiwan again & again!! ^^


Leave a Reply

