Simple College Cooking 101: Episode 3: Refried Fried Rice

21Oct08

I’m actually not sure how I made this anymore. I know I had gone to eat Chinese (or some other Asian) food the night before, and thus had leftover fried rice in my fridge, waiting and beckoning to me.

At the time I made this (August 24, 2008– yes, I’m THAT behind on my posts), I didn’t have a microwave, so I was recooking all of my food on the stovetop before eating it again. To tell the truth, I would have preferred to do that for all of my food because I was given the opportunity to remake all of my meals into something even better than what I first ate. Case in point being this post.

In any case, I will give the recipe for what I put into this refried fried rice, especially for those of you who may have leftover fried rice from Chinese takeout sometime. I’ll be putting up my own recipe for fried rice soon if you prefer making your own fried rice.

Ingredients:

1 cup leftover fried rice

1/2 cup sliced or diced shiitake mushrooms (I usually use ugly baby shiitakes, so it’s just easier to chop them in small bits)

1/2 cup baby spinach

1 tbsp vegetable oil

Salt

Directions:

  1. Heat the vegetable oil in the frying pan on medium-high
  2. Add the chopped mushrooms to the frying pan and saute for one minute
  3. Add salt to the mushrooms
  4. Add the leftover fried rice to the pan and mix well with the mushrooms
  5. Saute the rice and mushroom mix for three or four minutes, or until it’s heated through
  6. Add the baby spinach and saute another two minutes

—–

For those of you who are curious, I still ended up getting a microwave (as a law student, time is of the essence!). Ah, Craigslist… 😀

No Responses Yet to “Simple College Cooking 101: Episode 3: Refried Fried Rice”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

