Blueberry Breakfast Cake – courtesy of Purplesque

27Aug08

I am still a good three weeks behind in posting my pictures on this blog. APOLOGIES!

I’ve finally decided to make something that a fellow blogger (Purplesque) baked several weeks ago. I always say that I want to try a recipe that someone else  has made, and, sadly, most of the time I haven’t the time (or skill?) to pull it off. Not this time! This time, I pulled it off!

I present, ladies and gentlemen, Jeanne’s Blueberry Breakfast Cake (as based off of Purplesque’s Recipe!):

Ingredients

2/3 cup all purpose flour
2/3 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 cup oats (I used a mix of instant and regular) – soak briefly in milk or water
1/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup milk
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup applesauce
1 cup blueberries

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 deg F and grease a 8×8 cake pan (I used a round one)
  2. Mix the dry ingredients (minus the blueberries) together, and then mix the liquid ingredients separately.
  3. Toss the blueberries lightly with a tbsp of the flour mixture (Purplesque’s original recipe had called for a tbsp of cornstarch, which, I suspect, was probably for this task, but flour works just as well).
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix.
  5. Gently fold in the blueberries.
  6. Pour the batter into the pan and bake for 20-25 minutes.
  7. Cool before serving

It didn’t come out as well for me as it did for Purplesque, I think, in part, because I used frozen blueberries. I’m going to try this recipe again with fresh ones sometime.

Once I get baking supplies again, that is, since my kitchen is currently sadly lacking in everything except the basic, basic necessities (as in, I have two plates, two cups, two bowls, two sets of mini forks and spoons, etc. Slowly, right?)

One Response to “Blueberry Breakfast Cake – courtesy of Purplesque”

  1. Oh, wow! I’m always surprised when someone cooks from a recipe of mine. 🙂 I’m sorry the cake didn’t turn out well for you. It certainly looks scrumptious.


Leave a Reply

