Apple Crisp Pie

14Aug08

Really, what is the difference between an apple pie and an apple crisp? Is it really just that an apple pie has a crust and an apple crisp has a crumble?

Curious.

The past several months I made a “Things to accomplish” list that I had to finish before I would let myself buy any more cook books or bakeware. It sits as a bright, neon blue post-it on the desktop of my notebook, but somehow I’ve been having trouble fulfilling the tasks on the list.

My list:

– [DONE] popovers
– waffles (Hello Kitty)
– [DONE] banana pancakes
– [DONE] lasagna

– taiwanese beef noodle soup
– [DONE] apple pie
– at least three different pasta dishes that are not baked
– brioche (again)
– [DONE] challah
– cupcakes with icing on top

I’ve made progress, but I’m nowhere near done… yet. But I’ve progressed! I still have a few more things left to accomplish, but if I’m lucky, I’ll be able to start buying cookbooks and bakeware by the time the winter holidays roll around…

In ANY case– I finally got around to making apple pie late last month (okay, it was an apple crisp, but it’s almost the same thing).

I adapted this recipe from Williams-Sonoma’s Apple Crisp. Please see below for the recipe.

The apple crisp came out very well, although perhaps not as sweet and juicy as I expected. I’ll definitely play around with different recipes before I settle on one. This one called for thin slices of apples. I want to try one that has chunks! Fat, juicy chunks of apple!

I had extra egg yolk leftover, so I decided to try and see what it would look like if I glazed the crust. Not a great idea, on my part. I’ll try to refrain from doing this in the future. I’ve been having too much fun with glazes.

There was extra flour and butter leftover, so I made some super-rock-hard cookies. I just added a little bit of everything, so I don’t know how to make them again. But they weren’t that tasty. They looked pretty enough, on the outside, but on the inside, they were dry and hard and unappetizing.

Oh well. You win some, you lose some.

Here’s the recipe for the Apple Crisp-pie, as adapted from Williams-Sonoma’s recipe:

Ingredients:
CRUST
– 1 cup all purpose flour
– 1 tbsp sugar
– 1/4 tsp salt
– 8 tbsp (1 stick) unsalted butter
– 2 tbsp ice water
FILLING
– 4 granny smith apples (or whatever other apple you prefer)
– 2 tbsp sugar
– 1 tbsp lemon juice
TOPPING
– 3/4 cup sugar
– 1/2 cup flour
– 1/2 tsp cinnamon
– 1/4 tsp salt
– 8 tbsp (1 stick) unsalted butter

Directions:
CRUST

— In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, and salt. Cut the butter into small cubes and cut the butter into pea-sized granules with two knives (or a pastry blender or a food processor set to pulse). Add the ice water slowly and mix the dough lightly until it becomes a ball. Wrap the dough in plastic and refridgerate for several hours (at least two). Roll out the pastry and fit it into a 9″ pie plate.
FILLING
— Peel, core, and thinly slice the apples. Make sure the fruit isn’t too damp (pat dry with a paper towel if necessary). Toss the fruit with the sugar and lemon juice, then fill the pastry shell with apples, rounding up in the center.
TOPPING
— Combine the sugar, flour, cinnamon, and salt in a bowl. Cut the butter in small cubes and add them to the dry mix. Crumble and mix the butter and flour mixture with finger tips until it is granular. Sprinkle the topping evenly over the apples, and then bake the entire pastry for 15 minutes in a 425 degree F oven. Then, reduce the heat to 350 deg F and bake another 25-30 minutes until the top is golden brown and the apples are cooked and bubbly.
–If the crust is browning too quickly, cover it with aluminum foil.

Serves 8

One Response to “Apple Crisp Pie”

  1. 1 Selena Michaelis

    If you have not tried oatmeal apple crisp, you really should. Apple crisp is so much better with a ratio of about 3/4 oats to 1/4 flour.


Leave a Reply

