Arriving in Disney

07Jul08

Disneyworld! The ideal playground for the young at heart where, this year, a million dreams will come true. At least, that’s what they tell me.

We arrived mid-afternoon on July 2 and decided to wander into Downtown Disney to shop and eat. There were thousands of people milling about, and it turned out that, regardless of restaurant, we would have to wait almost an hour to be seated.

So we waited.

We chose to eat Irish our first night in Disney. Specifically, the Raglan Road Irish Pub.

Our waitress brought out soda bread (accompanied by a sweet Guinness reduction dipping sauce) for us to chomp on while we waited for our food to come. I don’t know if we were all just starving or if the bread was just delicious, but we ended up asking for a second basket of the bread. I personally loved the dipping sauce. I thought it was honeyed something-or-the-other at first, but when I asked the waitress and she said it was a reduction of Guinness, I must admit that I was impressed.


My youngest brother and I shared a chicken dish, but I tried bites of everyone else’s food.

Jon had a chicken and sage banger (whatever the heck a banger is).

My mother had a portobello mushroom sandwich, which was pretty tasty.

My father had fish and chips, which is pretty normal and uninteresting, so I refrained from taking a picture. Besides, we were all hungry– it was hard enough holding everyone back so I could take these few pictures!!

And since there was a Ghirardelli dessert store… well, let’s just say that my brothers need to satisfy their respective sweet tooths.

No Responses Yet to “Arriving in Disney”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

