Strawberry Pancakes with Partridgeberry and Bakeapple Jams

28Jun08

Newfoundland has many fruits that I haven’t heard of, many of which they turn into jams (which are then sold as souvenirs to unwitting tourists like myself at exhorbitant prices at airports, etc., although I luckily bought my jams at a downtown specialty food store: Auntie Crae’s). Two jams that caught my eye were partridgeberry and bakeapple, also known as lingonberry and cloudberry, respectively.

I couldn’t resist. I bought them.

And while I was there, I also got a chance to eat strawberry pancakes (at K Café), which were so delicious, I couldn’t help but try and make them myself when I got home. The strawberries weren’t as sweet as I would have preferred, so next time I might coat them in a light layer of sugar briefly before I fold them into the batter.

Strawberry Buttermilk Pancakes

Ingredients:

– 1 ¼ cup all-purpose flour

– 2 tbsp sugar

– 2 tsp baking powder

– ½ tsp baking soda

– 1 pinch of salt

– 1 cup buttermilk

– 2 large eggs

– 2 tbsp oil

– 1 cup strawberries, chopped into thin chunks

Directions:

1. Mix all the dry ingredients together, and all the liquid ingredients together in separate bowls.

2. Slowly whisk the liquid into the dry mixture.

3. Fold the strawberries into the batter, then let the mixture set for approximately five minutes.

4. While the batter is resting, heat a griddle or frying pan on medium heat until a drop of water sizzles and skitters across its surface.

5. Add approximately ¼ cup batter to the griddle surface, and cook for approximately 4 minutes on each side. Basically, flip the pancake when there are a lot of bubbles rising.

6. Add jam and/or syrup and enjoy!

**Note that if the surface of a strawberry does touch the surface of the griddle, it is likely to burn, so you might find it more aesthetically pleasing if you wipe the surface of the griddle between pancakes.

One Response to “Strawberry Pancakes with Partridgeberry and Bakeapple Jams”

  1. i like this pankake it loock good


Leave a Reply

