Happy (Belated) Birthday (to me)!

07Nov09

076Yay birthdays.  I’m still young enough to not be scared of them but old enough to know that I better enjoy that feeling while it lasts, because it isn’t going to last much longer.

 

Actually, my philosophy about birthdays is that it isn’t so much about me as it is about my friends.  I see any opportunity to hang out with friends in a fun setting as an excellent thing.  After all, it happens far to rarely during law school.  Especially second year.  With my Asian Pacific American Law Students Association, scrambling for a job amid the debris of an extremely unfortunate job market  (which, by the way, I still have not found– if anyone out there is reading this and would like to offer this poor-but-awesomely-talented second year law student a summer position at their law firm, I welcome you!), and hundreds of pages of reading every week, I have been neglecting this blog.  Apologies all around.

 

071Case in point?  This post. My birthday was a day over a month ago (Read: October 6), and yet here I am, blogging about it only now (today: November 7).  I procrastinate, I know, but a ton of things came up, and here are my excuses:  I went home (yes, East Coast home home), I got sick (I don’t think it was the pig flu, err, to be politically correct I think it’s now just H1N1, but regardless, I still maintain that it was food poisoning, despite the fact that everyone ate the same things I did the day before I was upchucking my internal organs into a nice, porcelain bowl– apologies again, this is not the stuff you want to read in a food blog), and then I just turned in a 20+ page paper today (21 pages and 97 citations! And counting!).   Perhaps not the best excuses, but . . . I am back!  I am alive (sort of), and I am ready to eat/cook/blog!

 

Anyway, back to “my birthday.”  Last year my birthday celebrations consisted of a week-long off-and-on party, beginning with a potluck with friends and culminating in a final clubbing event at Roe (651 Howard St).  This year I switched it around, starting with a clubbing event at Bubble Lounge (a champagne bar in North Beach, on 714 Montgomery St) and ending in a potluck the following Saturday.  Curious.  How will I mix it up next year?

 

This year, I received mostly food as my birthday gifts – actually, mostly dessert items (who knew that my friends knew me so well?).  My friend and next door neighbor, Peter, brought me Japanese wagashi (desserts) from Minamoto Kitchoan on Market St (see above pictures).  Delicious!  Thank you!Confessions of a Hungry Madwoman

 

Here I am, devouring one of the delicious pastries he brought back for me.  Haha.  I was a little excited about it, maybe.  Just a little bit.  Nothing too dramatic, of course.  I’m not a dramatic person.

 

Ever.

 

It’s amazing how much good food will make you happy though.  I held off on eating this right away, waiting for a moment when I could just sit and enjoy this snack in the comfort of my room . . . Just knowing this was waiting for me when I returned to my room made me happy.

 

What can I say?  I’m a simple woman with simple tastes.

 

Or maybe not so simple.

 

108

My friend, Priscilla, bought me a box of French macarons from the famous Paulette.  I didn’t even know what this cute little box held within its pink grasp was a row of scrumptious macarons when she placed the box in front of me before our Wills and Trusts class started. (As a side note to any Hastings students reading this: take Wills and Trusts with Professor Beth Hillman if you can because she is an awesome professor and all that jazz.  She’s engaging and interesting, and if that doesn’t encourage you, then perhaps the idea of prying into the sordid lives of rich people like Anna Nicole Smith and examining why her will sucked will.  I am enjoying the class, anyway.  Hopefully you will, too.)  When I got back to my room and opened the box, I couldn’t resist.  I had to take pictures of it.

 

So there you are.

 

YUM…111 It was so good that when I flew home the following week, I ran over to Paulette (in Hayes Valley) and bought more – one box for my family, another box for my friend, Yaeri, whose birthday was that day, and another couple of individual ones for myself and my friend, Sara, each.

 

Speaking of which, Sara, one of my best friends in law school, is an extraordinary baker and cook, and she has agreed to guest blog!  She will be blogging about the two cakes she made for my birthday (Goodness, what did I do to deserve such an awesome friend who bakes cakes for my birthday? Not just one, but TWO!).  Please look forward to that entry coming soon!

 

3 Responses to “Happy (Belated) Birthday (to me)!”

  1. 1 Sara

    Awwww, I <3 you, Jeanne!

  2. Mmmm that looks so yummy!! Happy Birthday!

  3. 3 Jing

    Happy birthday!!!! Also – a 5 guys opened in Bethesda. I think I’ll need to pick up my exercise regime again.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

