Dine About Town SF – Lunch

04Feb09

During the last two weeks of January, San Francisco had an event called “Dine About Town.” Basically two restaurant weeks back to back, I finally managed to haul my poor self to a couple of restaurants. Note: Unfortunately, Dine About Town has ended, but you can check out when it’s Restaurant Week in your area at OpenTable!

The first one I went to was last Thursday, January 29, 2009. My friend Sharon and I went to the Financial District and ate at Jeanty at Jacks,  a cute French bistro. 007

008

That’s us. Yay! The restaurant itself was a cute little place with three stories. My friend had a large wheelie bag with all of her books in it, so we took the elevator all the way up. The top floor has an open ceiling and decor that kind of reminds me of a greenhouse of sorts, but much more airy.

009

Here’s the menu from when we went. For those of you who don’t know what it is, Dine About Town and Restaurant Week are weeks during which restaurants provide three course fix prixe meals for lunch and/or dinner. In San Francisco, the price for lunch was $21.95, and dinner was $34.95. The price varies from city to city (I know that Los Angeles has a three tier system, with dinners ranging from $26 to $44).

015

Our first course was the tomato soup with a puff pastry top. Yum!

022Sharon ordered the Grilled Flat Iron Steak (good for her, because she was craving steak, haha!). It was good! Tender and juicy and definitely not too well done.

024I had the Sole Meuniere. I really liked this dish – better than I liked the steak, definitely. The capers and lemon flowerets were perfect accompaniment to the sole. Yum!

029

And what meal would be complete without dessert? This was the creme caramel, which was absolutely fabulous. It’s like a flan, sweet, jiggly, and beautiful. I definitely enjoyed this dessert. I kind of wish I had more now, actually!

That was lunch. We thoroughly enjoyed it. I love Dine About Town — especially because I went out again that night for Dine About Town!

Next entry: Dine About Town, Ruth’s Chris style!

3 Responses to “Dine About Town SF – Lunch”

  1. 1 Jenn

    Yum!!! That creme looks amazing, I need to find a recipe for that!!

  2. 2 Jeanne

    haha, AGREED. I’ve been wanting to make something like that for ages. Maybe one of these days when I have time… (ha, time… :D)

  3. 3 Abe

    “Not Fair!” cries Abe in a jealous rage with his right hand in a fist and his sad little sandwich in his left hand.

    Thanks for the photos though…I would have gotten the flat steak too!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

