Mommy’s Salmon

07Nov08

cimg50971

“Soy sauce and sugar.”

Whenever I ask my mother what she marinades her meat with, she responds with the same answer. And it’s worked so far. I love chicken, pork, beef, salmon, tofu… Anything soaked in this sweet and savory marinade is absolutely delicious. And today, I share it with you!

The Civic Center Farmer’s Market has a pretty wide selection of fruits and veggies, but there really is no meat (unless you want an entire, live chicken– but more on that in another post). There is, however, a stand that sells fresh seafood. There are whole trouts, large scallops, and various other fish that I have no idea the name for. I was a bit hesitant at first – most of the fish had to be gutted and cleaned, which, in my tiny apartment, would probably not be the best idea.

Then I saw it– salmon steaks!

My mother often cooks salmon for my family. It’s a healthy, rosy-hued fish with many health benefits. Salmon is low in calories, high in protein, and filled with the famed omega-3 fatty acids. Yum. Delicious and good for my body? Bring it on!

I don’t actually know what the cooking style is – it’s a combination of pan frying and steaming the fish… If anyone knows the technique name, please let me know! In the meantime, I’ll just name this recipe after my mother.

Mommy’s Salmon

Serves 2-3

Ingredients:

1. 1 lb salmon steak

2. 2/3 cup sugar

3. 2/3 cup soy sauce

4. (opt.) 1 tsp lemon juice

5. 1 tbsp vegetable oil

6. Green onion, cut in one-inch strips

Directions:

1. Make the marinade by mixing the sugar and soy sauce together until the sugar has dissolved. Add lemon juice at this point.

2. Put the salmon into a bag or small container so that it is completely covered by the marinade.

3. Allow the marinade to soak in at least a full minute (or up to several hours) in your fridge.

4. Heat a deep frying pan (with a cover) on medium high, and add the oil.

5. Place the salmon steak, skin-side down on the pan. Add the rest of the marinade into the pan. Cover the pan, and let the salmon cook for five minutes.

6. Check the salmon every few minutes to make sure the heat isn’t too high that it would burn the fish. Fish tends to be done at a lower temperature than, say, red meats. After the five minutes, carefully flip the salmon over and allow it to cook for another five minutes.

7. Add the green onion strips at the very end and sauté briefly for a minute.

8. The extra marinade in the pan should have become a sauce – if you want, you can let it stay in the pan an extra few minutes to thicken.

cimg5096

3 Responses to “Mommy’s Salmon”

  1. 1 kcha

    what about my salmon??? =T

  2. this looks phenomenal! I can’t afford salmon often on a student budget:( but whennnnn I do, I’m making this

  3. 3 Jeanne

    Madalina– you can technically substitute any kind of fish with this recipe. Good luck, and let me know if you try recipe! :D


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

